Founders’ Medals

The Founders’ Medals

The Founders’ Medals were instituted to commemorate the work of Professor HES Freemantle, Professor RA Lehfeldt and Mr CW Pearsall, through whose efforts the Economic Society of South Africa was founded in 1925. The purpose of the awards is to encourage research in the field of economics in South Africa and to recognise economic research of outstanding quality conducted at a South African university. All areas of economics are eligible.

An adjudicator (or adjudicating panel) is appointed annually by the Council of the Society. The adjudicator’s reports and recommendations are submitted to the Council, who awards the medals.


Le Roux Burrows